HirnTumor-Forum

Autor Thema: Proton therapy and heavy ions - is it a solution for astrocytom?  (Gelesen 14619 mal)

anca

• Gast
Have you heard of   "HIT - Heidelberg Ion Therapy"?
What do you think about it?
Has anyone done the proton or ion therapy? Before or after surgery?

My name is Anca. I am a nurse from Romania and I have 40 years. I have accidentally discovered 2 months ago that I have a low grade astrocysm. Proffesor Samii from INI - Hanover recommanded to wait and to do the RMN after an year. The proffesors in Duseldorf, Erlangen and Asklepios(Hamburg) recommanded that the intervention to be done now.
In America, the prices are too big. It's too expesive.
How much does it cost in Germany?

I'm waiting for an answer,
Anca.

Offline Bluebird

• Mitglied Forum
  • God Mitglied
    • Profil anzeigen
Re: Proton therapy and heavy ions - is it a solution for astrocytom?
« Antwort #1 am: 15. Januar 2010, 07:03:38 »
Hello Anca,

welcome to this page. I read about those treatments but have no experience on my own. Please kindly ask for an estimation of costs in one of the hospitals chosen.
Is there a chance that the low-grade astro can be resected (best case completely)?
I know that a resection incl. stay in hospital costs approx. 15.000 up to 20.000 Euro.
Maybe some of our members can share their experiences and advise more to this.
Prof. Samii, Director of the INI is highly recommended but if other opinions differ in the same way, a fast intervention may be the right decision.

My best wishes
rgds
Bluebird
« Letzte Änderung: 15. Januar 2010, 15:54:45 von Bluebird »
The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago.
The second best time is NOW.
(Chinesisches Sprichwort)

Offline kätzchen

• Mitglied Forum
  • Junior Mitglied
    • Profil anzeigen
    • ein kleiner Blog...
« Antwort #2 am: 15. Januar 2010, 09:20:12 »
Hello,

firstly, my English is terrible, I hope that you doesn't care :)